Our Board

Prof. Dr. Arnd Stephan (Chairman of the Board)

Prof. Dr. Stephan occupies the Chair of Electric Railways at the “Friedrich List” Faculty of Transportation Sciences at Dresden University of Technology and is Managing Director of the IFB Institut für Bahntechnik GmbH (Railway Technology Institute). He is among others a recognized expert in the fields of electric drive technology, electrical power supply, high-speed and light-rail systems.

“A successful rail sector needs the cooperation of industry, science and politics and, in addition, lively communication. communication. As a university lecturer and managing director of an engineering firm based here, I would like to contribute valuable experience and a wide range of contacts to the Rail.S board in this regard.”

Dr. Steffen Röhlig (Deputy Chairman)

Dr. Röhlig is the head of business development at the Rail Power Systems GmbH, a leading system house for electrical railway infrastructure.
He also
works actively in the European standardization for railways, acts as lecturer for electrical railways at the Dresden University of Applied Science and is the editor-in-chief of the magazine eb – Elektrische Bahnen (electrical railways).

“Networks, exchange of experience, research and development as well as targeted training for young professionals are essential for the
rail industry in a future-oriented, highly specialized and internationally active market. My personal commitment
shall serve to make the network and the resulting advantages available to all Rail.S members.”

Nils Berthold (Treasurer)

Nils Berthold, a graduate engineer in electrical engineering, is head of the electrical power supply systems division at SIGNON Deutschland GmbH, where he is responsible for all aspects of planning of electrical track infrastructure, with the exception of LST and TC systems. Since 1979 he has been supporting the park railway in Dresden in an honorary capacity, among other things in the training and supervision of young railway employees.

“After actively shaping the merger of IZBE e. V and BTS e. V. to form Rail.S e. V., I would like to continue to actively shape the association as treasurer and thus contribute to a further improvement of the Saxon network of the railroad industry.”

Michael Brandhorst (Member of the Board)

A graduate in Mechanical Engineering, Michael Brandhorst is Managing Director of Photon Meissener Technologies GmbH and has particular experience in the areas of the development, approval and production of railway vehicles and components and manufacturing technology including laser welding and development and production of Photon products for the mobility (rail, road, waterway).

“With my cross-industry networking and personal experience in the ʼusedʼ federal countries, I would like to contribute to the success of the rail technology network in Saxony.”


Andreas Küster (Member of the Board)

Having 20 years of experience as a scientist, Andreas Küster has also been working in the field of intelligent transport systems as Chairman of the Board of ITS Saxonia e. V. since 2014, in addition to his work as Division Manager of the MRK Group for Transport, Energy and Telecommunications. Both in the association and in the MRK Competence Centre in Dresden, he uses his expertise to develop and implement intelligent solutions in rail transport.

“Coming from a railroad family, it is in my genes to keep the railroad attractive, efficient and competitive by means of innovative technologies. That’s why I want to use my skills through my work as a board member at Rail.S, shape this vision in the association and implement it with the members.”

Axel Schober (Member of the Board)

Dr. Axel Schober holds a doctorate in international civil procedure law, was an assistant at the Chair of Comparative Law at the University of Bayreuth, completed doctoral studies in Bordeaux and worked in Paris before coming to Dresden. Today, he is a lawyer specializing in commercial and corporate law, including international law, as well as arbitrator (e.g. at the German Institution of Arbitration DIS and ICC, International Chamber of Commerce). His clients are medium-sized companies with an affinity for technology in the fields of rail and automotive, mechanical engineering and metal and plastics processing. He has been closely associated with the Rail.S network for many years.

“Technologically, the rail industry is not limited to national effectiveness. Neither is it economically or legally. International networking is an important driving force for the further development of the companies and the people who support them. This is what I stand for, and this is also where I get involved in many ways in society (e.g. as a working group leader, deputy chairman of the national technical committee, etc.). It is a great pleasure and honor for me to be able to put this to good use as a member of the Rail.S board.”

Sebastian Wolfram (Member of the Board)

Sebastian Wolfram, a graduate engineer in mechanical engineering, is owner of the development office WOLFRAM Designers and Engineers. Under his leadership, products for the vehicle industry, mechanical and plant engineering and medical technology are developed. Mr. Wolfram is also a member of the Executive Board of Organic Electronics Saxony e. V. and on the advisory board of GRAVOmer e. V..

“Innovations come about through networked thinking and action. As a board member, I would like to contribute to the success of Rail.S e. V. with my cross-industry knowledge and broad network.”

Our Advisory Council

Michael Fohrer

Mr. Michael Fohrer primarily operates as the owner of the management consultancy MF International Consulting & Business Development.

His key topics in the advisory council of Rail.S e. V. can be assigned to the areas of technology trends, internationalization & recruitment of young talent.

Jan Hippold MdL

Mr. Jan Hippold is a member of the CDU parliamentary group in the Saxon state parliament.

His main focus in the advisory council of Rail.S e. V. can be assigned to the area of politics.

Prof. Dr. Roland Tetzlaff

Prof. Dr. Roland Tetzlaff is the Chief Officer Technology Transfer and Internationalization TU Dresden.

His main topics in the advisory council of Rail.S e. V. can be assigned to the areas of know-how transfer & internationalization.

Martin Walden

Mr. Martin Walden works full-time as DB Group Representative for Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia.

His main topics in the advisory board of Rail.S e. V. can be assigned to the areas German market, railroad operations & federal politics.